About a dad and his daughter

So , we have been trying to make kanmani sleep alone from the time she was well and healthy  enough to sleep alone (in the same room as ours ).Sleep at night has always been her dad’s  dept , from the time she came home from the NICU , nightly feedings , she slept on Dh’s chest for almost 2 mos when she came home and Dh would sleep at an incline because that’s the way she was most comfy with (at that time we didn’t know she had GERD too).Every feeding he would check her  temperature  , change her diapers and feed her .Afternoons was my shift .We got her crib , in which I struggled to get her sleep , struggle being the keyword here because of her sensory issues.Finally I discovered , weighted blankets(click) I just used many heavy blankets on her leg ,at that time I did not know I was using this method , I only knew by trial n error that she liked gentle pressure on her leg and back .She finally learnt to sleep in her crib …alone .

So she slept in the crib for naps and slept with us during night and I made sure she slept on DH ‘s side because she can be the worst sleep companion ,she will never sleep , she will tantrum ,chatter ..etetc…

Now fast-forward , Dh has been complaining for quiet some time that she needs to sleep alone , because her requests were getting too much .She will ask DH to tell the same ‘paati vadai suttai ‘ story in tamil, then english then again tamil over n over.

Also DH in his attempt to make it interesting for her will introduce Dora , boots etc in the story and each day the characters change …but he was getting tired and he never loses his cool with her ..which takes a lots of effort for anyone .Then she will say she has work to do and run off to the living room and cry if he asks her to come back ..this happens everyday

This weekend we got her twin bed , dora sheets etetc and I managed to make her sleep in her room in her bed .

When it was bedtime for us both ,I was so happy I put the pillow in the middle of the bed (usually I will be hanging on in the edge of the bed )and thought from now on its going to be so peaceful .

do u know what dh did after lying down for few moment ?

‘do u think kanmani will feel lonely when she wakes up in the other room’, I miss her , what if she gets scared ……etetc..

..and he woke the sleeping baby and brought her back to our bedroom and I again clung to the edge of the bed  :), once I rolled of the bed and ell down ,now it california queen size but , kanmani takes a lot of space and Dh wants her to sleep comfy so we both give her the space

hey amma I will be BACK 😉

One response to “About a dad and his daughter

  1. Congratulations on the transition! Kiki still crawls into bed with us in the early morning hours. We’re too sleepy (lazy?) to get her to go back and so we let her. I am the same way – hugging the edge of the bed because I’m such a light sleeper and can’t have anyone/anything close to me while I’m asleep.

Leave a Reply

