Grandparents

Mine doubled as parents , confidantes ,friend ,role models ,sibling  everything .The were the ones that offered stability in my life ,everything in my life I owe to them both.They spoilt me with so much love that I use them as yardsticks and everyone always fall short of it.Planned to name my daughter after my grandma Grace Rathnbai but decided against it,my daughter has suffered a lot from conception I did not want her to suffer in her  life too like my grandma did

  • curry leaves
  • coconut oil
  • bulls eye
  • any senior person
  • sometimes the smell on my daughter’s head
  • turmeric
  • trees
  • the color green
  • chocolates
  • Ice cream
  • coffee that tastes bitter
  • puttu
  • Idli
  • drumsticks
  • Bible
  • church
  • Christmas
  • Lent season
  • Fish
  • Wrinkled hands
  • Breeze
  • sand

All these remind me of you ammachi ,when I say remind I don’t mean I forget you for even a second ,you are like program that always running on my brain but these thing cause an interrupt in my program that I stop all other tasks and think of you more

Why did you leave thatha alone , I know you had Alzheimer’s but couldn’t you have stayed a bit longer ,I miss you a lot.

3 responses to “Grandparents

  1. I called my grandma Ammachi too, I miss her! So many things on your list remind me of home…well, “home” when I was growing up.

  2. grandparents are the best 🙂

  3. Pingback: My thatha |